Mér hefur ávallt leiðst þú.

by jimwood8

From Höskuldur Thráinsson’s (2007:237) book, The Syntax of Icelandic:

Here, Höski is observing that the well-known effect of syncretism with 3rd person ameliorating 1st and 2nd person nominative objects extends to syncretism with auxiliary constructions. I found several examples of this online, and they all conform to this generalization:

  1. Fínt að enda þetta á honum elskulega Samúel sem skrifaði eftirfarandi í 4.bekkjarbókina mína.“Sævar þú ert ruglaður og mér hefur ávallt leiðst þú. Ég ber engar hlýjar tilfinningar til þín og ég vona að þú munir eignast aðra vini í framtíðinni. Þinn óvinur Sammi sæti” (source)
  2. Mér sjálfri mundi leiðast ég sjálf svo svakalega og það gengur ekki vegna þess að ég sit uppi með mig og ég nenni ekki að láta mér leiðast ! (source)
  3. “Ég er barn. Fákunnandi, fátæk og ófróð stúlka, sem ættfólkið þitt liti á með lítilsvirðing og þér mundi leiðast ég til lengdar.” (source)

Note that (2) and (3) have a 1st person object, so there is nothing special in particular about 1st person in Höskuldur’s (4.190a); in (2) and (3), it’s just that the auxiliary mundi is syncretic for 1st/3rd, whereas in (1) the auxiliary hefur is syncretic for 2nd/3rd. I haven’t seen any counter-examples yet. However, it is interesting to note that I also haven’t found any cases of auxiliary syncretism saving a nominative object of the other verb that is always discussed in this connection, namely líka/líkað ‘like’.

